Robocut vs Tempus Tools
Both products quote laser cutting jobs from CAD files and both offer a customer-facing web store. The differences that survive a fact check are price, where the web store sits in the plan ladder, and what happens to the money on each order.
What each one costs
Tempus Tools publishes three tiers: Starter at $100/month (20 quotes per month, one quoting user), Regular at $300/month and Advanced at $500/month, with 25% off when billed annually. The web store is not included in Starter — Tempus lists it, together with the PDF-to-CAD converter and the shipping calculator, as what the Regular tier adds.
Robocut is a single subscription at $199/month + VAT, with optional modules: bending +$49, assembly (bending included) +$59, automatic quoting agent +$49. The customer-facing store is part of the base subscription, not a higher tier.
So the honest comparison is not $199 against $100. If you want customers to quote themselves, the Tempus tier that does that is Regular, at $300/month.
What happens on each order
Tempus states a Stripe fee of 0.5% on Starter and Regular invoices and 2.0% on Web Store orders. Robocut takes no commission on orders at all: the software does not process card payments, and you collect from your customer by your own method — bank transfer, cash or terms.
That cuts both ways, and it is worth saying plainly: Tempus gives you card payment out of the box and Robocut does not. If instant card collection matters more to you than the 2%, that is a real argument for Tempus.
Where the layout comes from
One claim we will not make: that Tempus lacks nesting. Its own support documentation describes a fully nested sheet and two material-consumption modes — Whole Sheet, where the sheet area is divided by the number of parts that fit, and Nest Bounds, where remnant strips are not charged.
Robocut runs its own nesting engine and prices from the resulting layout: sheet count, used area, scrap ratio, weight, cut length and pierce count. Parts can also be arranged, rotated and locked by hand, and the price follows.
The output side is where the documented difference is. Robocut writes an LXD sheet file that CypCut reads. CypCut or CAM output is not stated anywhere on the Tempus features page.
What Tempus has that Robocut does not
Vector PDF to CAD conversion, tube and pipe cutting from 3D files, and accounting integrations with Xero and QuickBooks are all on the Tempus feature list and are not in Robocut. Drawing repair exists in both — Tempus calls it Drawing Doctor; in Robocut the equivalent ships switched off, because repairing geometry changes the price and that is the shop's decision to make.
If any of those three is the reason you are shopping, Tempus answers them and Robocut does not. We would rather write that here than have you find out on a demo call.
| Robocut | Tempus Tools | |
|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $199/mo + VAT | $100/mo (Starter) |
| Tier with a customer web store | Base subscription | Regular — $300/mo |
| Annual prepay discount | Not offered | 25% |
| Commission on store orders | None | 2.0% (Stripe, Web Store orders) |
| Card payment by the software | No — bank transfer, cash or terms | Yes, via Stripe |
| Nesting | Own engine; price follows the layout | Fully nested sheet; Whole Sheet / Nest Bounds modes |
| CypCut LXD (CAM) output | Yes | Not stated |
| Vector PDF to CAD | No | Yes (Regular and above) |
| Tube and pipe cutting | No | Yes |
| Xero / QuickBooks | No | Yes |
| Drawing repair | Yes — off by default | Yes — Drawing Doctor |
Sources, checked 2026-09-11: tempustools.com/pricing · tempustools.com/features · support.tempustools.com — material consumption mode